WEEK 3. THE ‘SPECIFIC’ SEARCH BEGINS

Standard

GOOGLE

Being an eternal optimist I am going to use the very specific term of ‘pushcart ‘in my initial searches as I know there is a lot of curriculum based material on the internet about this. I am also going to begin with a very simple search string of “inquiry-learning” AND “primary” AND “pushcart”. The purpose of this is as a fishing exercise just to see what’s out there before I broaden my searches.


Not nearly as many results as I was expecting. My Blog is listed as the second and third result. Now, I know there is not much information there (!) but the specific search terms I used appear several times in it. The top result is a PDF of school newsletter.

Google kept predicting inquiry-BASED learning so I repeat the same search using this term instead. Nothing with the use of inverted commas, so why was it telling me to try that term? Some results yielded without inverted commas where the words were picked up individually rather than as I had grouped them.

Google also prompted “push cart” as two separate words so I also tried that yielding different results. There were six bookshops in the top ten and the top two were PDF dissertations where push cart was mentioned in the text but was completely irrelevant to my context.


In order to show you the most relevant results, we have omitted some entries very similar to the 5 already displayed.
If you like, you can repeat the search with the omitted results included.

I had never come across the above statement before and when I clicked on it the other results were the same original articles listed at different web addresses.

RESULTS

  • The majority of hits were PDFs from schools around Aust who have done the Kids Design Challenge and written about it in their newsletters
  • There were curriculum overviews from various states that I thought may be useful to check for inquiry-learning links.
  • There were some PDFs of whole journals and conference papers and proceedings; I had to scroll through lots of pages to find the relevant section only to reject each as a useful source.
  • Pushcarts are also known as trolleys in the US and the term is also used to describe the push along market stalls in the UK.

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

SO, onto my new best friend Google Scholar, still using the very specific search terms.

RESULTS

  • Nothing relevant here, the search term “pushcart” although resulting in two hits is too specific, both results are for pushcart vendors
  • Primary is interpreted as ‘primary source’.

A+ EDUCATION

Again I go with the specific terms and limit results to full text and post 2000.

RESULTS

EUREKA! One result yielded and it is the perfect article, How can teacher librarians support technology learning?...AND there is a section on pushcarts.

One response »

  1. Hi Jacqui
    I liked the flow of your post! It is really easy to see how you were thinking about you searches and questioning each step as you went along. I also liked your analysis of results and how it was formatted in the post- very easy to follow and relevant, but you also gave the reader the opportunity to explore you full set of result which I thought was very clever!
    I thought the only improvement you could have made would be to make the screen captures larger (if you figure out how- let me know- I think my blog has the same issue!)
    A pleasure to read, well done!

Leave a Reply

