WORKING SMARTER NOT HARDER!

Standard

Well after my period of floundering and confusion I am now feeling the pressure of looming due dates hence my new motto “smarter not harder” and I have had to put this into action. I conducted a search on the Eric database and came up with three really useful results. The following screen capture demonstrates how I narrowed my search down.


As you can see I have limited my results to full text and published from 2005 onwards as I simply don’t have the luxury of time to spend searching further. I need anything useful delivered up in an immediately readable format.

With enough scholarly articles to make my head spin, I now wanted to try and find visual images that reflected what I had been reading or showed examples of ‘best practice’ of inquiry-learning in primary school classrooms. So I headed back to Google and the following video demonstrates how I now search SMARTER!

SELECTION FOR ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY

GOOGLE

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

A+EDUCATION

ERIC

I I I I

I I I

I

I I I

This table shows where the final articles for my annotated bibliography were sourced from. Articles from the A+ Education and Eric database were accessed through the QUT library page. As you can see from the following image when you first go into the QUT virtual library you are given options to choose from. If you know which database you want you can go directly there otherwise you can click on education under the heading: – Databases For: This is what I did and it then takes you to a selection which includes the two databases that I used.

As you can see from the table, seven out of my final eleven resources are from Google which gave me some cause for concern given that Google does filter its sources. But then I remembered that I have the library settings on Scholar linked in to both the QUT and National library of Australia so I was accessing these holdings as well. The Eric and A+ databases did yield very specific results relating to my topic and I was able to utilise the range of options they offer for narrowing down the search. So with the searching done it is now time to consolidate…after a cup of tea of course.

One response »

  1. Love the title! it is so easy to get lost in the digital world, I start reading, then click on another link, more reading…look up at the clock…where did the time go. This is great advice…I need am working so hard to work smarter!

Leave a Reply

